NEGAbriefLocal records made useful
Historical recordTallulah Fallsarchived · outcome not found

Tallulah Falls revisits where to keep $170,593 in public funds, with no decision documented

After tabling the question to seek better options, the council put four maturing certificates of deposit back on its May 6 agenda.

By NEGA Brief Newsroom

At a glance

What this means now

Where it stands

The cited official record ends with the May 6, 2021 entry and does not establish a later final outcome.

The story

Tallulah Falls put the disposition of $170,593.08 in four maturing town certificates of deposit back before its council on May 6, 2021, after officials had delayed a decision a month earlier to examine additional options. The agenda called for consideration of renewing the deposits or pursuing another investment approach, but it does not record what the council ultimately did.

SourcesTallulah Falls Agendas - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet.pdfTallulah Falls Minutes - 04.08.21 RM MINUTES - 04.08.20 RM MINUTES.docx

The decision concerns more than a routine bank renewal. Town officials had to decide whether to lock public money into a deposit for a defined return or keep greater flexibility to move the funds, choices that affect both interest earnings and how quickly the town could access the money if needed. The amount at issue—more than $170,000—makes the terms and location of the investment a consequential local fiscal question.

SourcesTallulah Falls Minutes - 04.08.21 RM MINUTES - 04.08.20 RM MINUTES.docxTallulah Falls Agendas - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet.pdf

At its April 8 meeting, the council considered the four maturing CDs and compared an Oconee Federal Bank offer of 0.23% annual percentage yield for 13 months with United Community Bank’s 0.10% rate for 12 months. Rather than choose between those options at that meeting, the council unanimously voted to table the matter and research additional alternatives. That postponement led to the May 6 agenda item, which returned the financial question to the council for consideration.

SourcesTallulah Falls Minutes - 04.08.21 RM MINUTES - 04.08.20 RM MINUTES.docxTallulah Falls Agendas - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet.pdf

Oconee Federal was identified as offering a 13-month renewal at 0.23% APY, while United Community Bank’s cited option was 0.10% for 12 months. The council’s April action did not endorse either bank; its unanimous vote to table the issue signaled that members wanted more research before committing town funds. The May agenda likewise framed renewal and other investment options for council consideration, rather than naming a selected provider or term.

SourcesTallulah Falls Minutes - 04.08.21 RM MINUTES - 04.08.20 RM MINUTES.docxTallulah Falls Agendas - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet.pdf

The April tabling vote is a completed council action, and the May 6 agenda establishes that the CDs and possible investment choices were again placed before officials. A renewal with Oconee Federal, a move to another bank, or another investment vehicle remained proposals in the documents cited here. The May agenda identifies scheduled consideration but does not state a resulting investment action, so it cannot establish a final vote, transfer or renewal.

SourcesTallulah Falls Minutes - 04.08.21 RM MINUTES - 04.08.20 RM MINUTES.docxTallulah Falls Agendas - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet.pdf

The next public record that could resolve the question is the May 6 meeting minutes or a later Tallulah Falls council action record. It would need to show whether the town renewed with Oconee Federal, selected another institution, chose a term or adopted a different investment approach. Until such a record identifies an action, the final disposition of the $170,593.08 remains unknown.

SourcesTallulah Falls Agendas - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet - 05.06.21 RM Agenda Packet.pdfTallulah Falls Minutes - 04.08.21 RM MINUTES - 04.08.20 RM MINUTES.docx

Arguments in the record

Positions presented publicly

Council’s recorded action

The council unanimously tabled the April decision to research additional options before returning the matter to its May agenda.

Bank options presented

The April discussion cited Oconee Federal’s 0.23% APY offer for 13 months and United Community Bank’s 0.10% rate for 12 months; neither was documented as selected.

What happened

How this issue got here

Open any step for its supporting record. A proposal remains labeled as proposed until later evidence establishes an outcome.

Appeared on agenda
proposed

May agenda again put CD options before council

The May 6, 2021 agenda placed the four maturing CDs, totaling $170,593.08, and potential renewal or investment options before the council for consideration.

Approved
confirmed

Action approved: Tallulah Falls revisits where to keep $170,593 in public funds, with no decision documented

Official minutes for Tallulah Falls Minutes - 04.08.21 RM MINUTES - 04.08.20 RM MINUTES.docx record approval of this item: NEW BUSINESS The Town has four Certificates of Deposit that are maturing in an aggregate amount of $170,593.08. Oconee Federal Bank, where the CDs are currently held, offered a renewal rate for 13 months of 0.23% APY, down from the

Still unresolved

What is not yet known

These are evidence gaps, not assumptions. They remain open until a dependable source closes them.

  1. The May 6 agenda shows that the council scheduled consideration of the investment options, but it does not say whether officials approved or carried out any investment action.
Newsroom notes1 open check on the record

How the newsroom is still working this matter. These are process notes, not reported facts.

Research the record

Search the underlying agendas, minutes, and documents.

Search supporting records