The cited official record ends with the July 21, 2025 entry and does not establish a later final outcome.
Habersham probate judge’s $30,000 vital-records cap faces an unresolved new increase
County commissioners put a further increase for Probate Judge Pamela F. Wooley on their July 2025 agenda, but the public agenda does not say how much was proposed or whether the board acted.
At a glance
What this means now
The story
Habersham County commissioners scheduled a further increase in Probate Judge Pamela F. Wooley’s annual vital-records income-retention cap for their July 21, 2025 meeting, reopening a question the board had already acted on twice. The agenda identified the measure as Resolution 2025-07-001, but it did not name a proposed dollar amount or show whether commissioners approved, changed or rejected it. That leaves the county’s last confirmed cap at $30,000, set in June 2024.
The cap governs how much income from vital-records work handled through Probate Court the judge may retain each year. It is therefore a practical boundary on the handling of revenue associated with that work, rather than a routine agenda label. A new, confirmed increase would replace the $30,000 benchmark; a proposal listed on an agenda does not itself change the cap.
The board’s earlier actions show why the July 2025 listing matters. On June 19, 2023, commissioners unanimously voted 4-0 to raise then-Probate Judge Pam Wooley’s annual retention cap from $7,500 to $20,000. The meeting minutes said the court was bringing in $8,000 a month in vital-records revenue. A year later, on June 17, 2024, commissioners unanimously voted 5-0 to raise the cap again, this time to $30,000. The later agenda proposed another increase after those two confirmed steps, but does not document a completed third change.
The central public actors are the Board of Commissioners, which sets the cap through its resolutions and votes, and Wooley, whose annual retention limit is at issue. The 2023 and 2024 minutes record unanimous commission support for the two documented increases. The July 2025 agenda shows that commissioners planned to consider another increase for Wooley, but it includes no explanation of members’ reasoning, no stated position from Wooley and no account of public comment. Those omissions make it impossible to characterize the case for or against the later proposal.
Two actions are completed and documented in meeting minutes: the 2023 increase to $20,000 and the 2024 increase to $30,000. The July 2025 item remains a proposal documented on an agenda, not proof that a further increase took effect. The record does not establish a board vote, a signed resolution, an effective date, implementation, or even the amount commissioners were asked to consider. One finalized copy of the 2023 minutes carries a January 1, 2023 fallback storage date, but its title identifies the underlying meeting as June 19, 2023.
The next concrete public step is locating the minutes from the July 21, 2025 commission meeting or a signed copy of Resolution 2025-07-001. Either document could show whether the board acted, whether it amended the proposal, the cap adopted if any, and when it would begin. Until then, residents can trace two confirmed increases—from $7,500 to $20,000 and then to $30,000—but not a confirmed third one.
Arguments in the record
Positions presented publicly
Commissioners unanimously approved the documented 2023 and 2024 cap increases, according to meeting minutes.
The July 2025 agenda schedules consideration of another increase, but does not provide a dollar amount, rationale or outcome.
What happened
How this issue got here
Open any step for its supporting record. A proposal remains labeled as proposed until later evidence establishes an outcome.
Appeared on agendaproposedCommission scheduled consideration of another cap increase
The Board of Commissioners’ July 21, 2025 agenda scheduled consideration of Resolution 2025-07-001 to raise Probate Court Judge Pamela F. Wooley’s annual vital-records income retention cap. The agenda does not state an amount or final action.
+
Commission scheduled consideration of another cap increase
The Board of Commissioners’ July 21, 2025 agenda scheduled consideration of Resolution 2025-07-001 to raise Probate Court Judge Pamela F. Wooley’s annual vital-records income retention cap. The agenda does not state an amount or final action.
ApprovedconfirmedCommission raised probate-court cap to $30,000
On June 17, 2024, the Commission unanimously voted 5-0 to increase Probate Judge Pam Wooley’s vital-records income retention cap to $30,000.
+
Commission raised probate-court cap to $30,000
On June 17, 2024, the Commission unanimously voted 5-0 to increase Probate Judge Pam Wooley’s vital-records income retention cap to $30,000.
3 supporting records
MinutesMeeting4314_9 Minutes for 06.17.24 BOC Regular Meeting.pdfpage 10, text surrounding 'Approve'MinutesMeeting4597_9 Minutes for 06.17.24 BOC Regular Meeting.pdfpage 10, text surrounding 'Approve'MinutesMinutes for 06.17.24 BOC Regular Meetingpage 1, text surrounding 'Approve'ApprovedconfirmedCommission approved a $20,000 probate-court cap
On June 19, 2023, the Commission unanimously approved raising Probate Judge Pam Wooley’s annual vital-records income retention cap from $7,500 to $20,000. Minutes said the court was bringing in $8,000 a month in vital-records revenue.
+
Commission approved a $20,000 probate-court cap
On June 19, 2023, the Commission unanimously approved raising Probate Judge Pam Wooley’s annual vital-records income retention cap from $7,500 to $20,000. Minutes said the court was bringing in $8,000 a month in vital-records revenue.
Still unresolved
What is not yet known
These are evidence gaps, not assumptions. They remain open until a dependable source closes them.
- The July 21, 2025 agenda identifies a proposed further increase but neither states the proposed cap nor records an outcome.
- A finalized copy of the June 19, 2023 minutes has a January 1, 2023 fallback storage date; its title identifies the underlying meeting date as June 19, 2023.
Research the record