NEGAbriefLocal records made useful
Meeting previewHabersham Countyawaiting decision

Habersham’s proposed health-plan renewal would shift part of increase to county workers

Commissioners were asked May 18 to approve a 2026–27 package projected at $6.9 million before employee premiums and prescription rebates, but the record provided does not show a vote.

By NEGA Brief NewsroomLast checked May 18, 2026
What happens next

The next public step is the release of County Commission minutes or another official action record showing whether Habersham accepted the 2026–27 renewal, revised the cost-sharing terms or chose another option. Until then, the package’s implementation, the final employee premium contributions and the county’s final obligation remain undecided.

The story

Habersham County commissioners were asked May 18 to accept a proposed 2026–27 employee insurance package that would renew the county health plan with HealthEZ, ISU and VeracityRx and divide a projected $244,400 annual increase equally between the county and employees. The proposal put the plan’s gross annual cost at $6,898,411, but the agenda material does not show whether commissioners approved it.

Sources13 Agenda Item Insurance Renewal 2026-2027

The decision reaches beyond an insurance contract: it concerns a major county operating cost and the amounts workers could pay through payroll deductions. Under the staff and insurance-broker recommendation, the county and employees would each absorb half of the projected increase, an approach intended to limit the county’s added expense while raising employee contributions. The proposed total is a gross cost, not a confirmed final county expenditure.

Sources13 Agenda Item Insurance Renewal 2026-2027

The renewal first appeared in agenda material as a proposed continuation of the county’s health plan with the three vendors, projected to raise gross annual costs 3.7 percent. The underlying date for that initial proposal is not stated in the agenda material. By May 18, the proposal had been framed more specifically around the $244,400 projected increase and a 50-50 cost-sharing arrangement between the county and employees.

Sources13 Agenda Item Insurance Renewal 2026-2027

County staff and the county’s insurance broker recommended the shared-increase approach for commissioners’ consideration. For county government, the proposal would spread the additional cost rather than place it entirely on the budget. For employees, the same approach could mean higher premium contributions. The agenda item identifies those competing financial effects but does not include recorded comments from employees, commissioners or the vendors on the proposal.

Sources13 Agenda Item Insurance Renewal 2026-2027

Several figures in the proposal require distinction. The $6,898,411 amount is a projected gross annual health-plan cost, excluding roughly $701,000 in employee premiums and an estimated $179,000 in annual prescription-drug rebates. Dental, vision, life, disability and supplemental benefits were listed as rate-guaranteed, with no proposed benefit or cost changes. None of those proposed terms is established as effective because the material does not document commission action.

Sources13 Agenda Item Insurance Renewal 2026-2027

The next public step is the release of County Commission minutes or another official action record showing whether Habersham accepted the 2026–27 renewal, revised the cost-sharing terms or chose another option. Until then, the package’s implementation, the final employee premium contributions and the county’s final obligation remain undecided.

Sources13 Agenda Item Insurance Renewal 2026-2027

Arguments in the record

Positions presented publicly

County staff and insurance broker

They recommended that the county and employees each absorb half of the projected $244,400 annual increase.

Employee impact

The proposed cost-sharing structure could increase employee premium contributions, but the material does not include employee comment or final contribution amounts.

Official record

What the source establishes

Open any step for its supporting record. A proposal remains labeled as proposed until later evidence establishes an outcome.

Appeared on agenda
proposed

Commissioners asked to consider sharing health-plan increase

A May 18 agenda item asked commissioners to accept proposed 2026–27 insurance changes. It recommended splitting the projected $244,400 annual health-plan increase equally between the county and employees; gross annual cost was projected at $6,898,411, before about $701,000 in employee premiums and about $179,000 in prescription rebates. Other listed benefits were under rate guarantees with no change in benefits or cost.

Appeared on agenda
proposed

Proposed 2026–27 employee health-plan renewal

Commissioners were presented a proposed renewal with HealthEZ, ISU and VeracityRx, projected to raise gross annual health-plan costs 3.7% to $6,898,411, excluding employee premiums and county prescription rebates.

Still unresolved

What is not yet known

These are evidence gaps, not assumptions. They remain open until a dependable source closes them.

  1. The initial proposal’s underlying date is not stated in the agenda material.
  2. The agenda material does not establish whether commissioners voted on or adopted the proposed package.
Newsroom notes1 open check on the record

How the newsroom is still working this matter. These are process notes, not reported facts.

Research the record

Search the underlying agendas, minutes, and documents.

Search supporting records