GoGov is still a proposal, not a documented completed purchase or operating city service. The council has discussed a one-year contract priced at $10,352 annually, while the earlier April discussion listed components totaling $12,940. The record establishes that the council tabled the matter; it does not state that members later approved or rejected it, that either side signed a contract, or that the platform has been implemented. The reason for the price difference and the outcome of staff’s review of text-message and Nixle costs are not stated.
Demorest’s GoGov Decision Stalls, Leaving Digital City Services in Limbo
Council tabled the proposed one-year contract after seeking more information, then revisited the $10,352 plan without recording a final action.
The next concrete public step would be a future City Council agenda item and minutes returning the GoGov contract for action. Until then, residents cannot know whether the council will approve the existing proposal, negotiate different price or service terms, or reject it. Any later vote or contract record would also need to clarify whether the city’s plans for notifications, payments, requests and code enforcement remain the same.
At a glance
What this means now
The story
Demorest City Council’s proposed deal with GoGov remains unresolved after officials again reviewed the one-year, $10,352 digital-services contract on June 2 without recording a new action. The latest discussion followed the council’s unanimous May 5 vote to table the proposal while staff gathered additional information, leaving the platform unapproved in the documented record.
The decision reaches beyond a routine software subscription. Officials described GoGov as a citywide platform for resident service requests, code-enforcement cases, city communications, online payments and notifications. If adopted, it could change how residents report problems to City Hall and receive municipal information; if it is not adopted or is altered, the city must decide what services and costs it wants instead.
Council first considered the platform at an April 7 work session, when listed annual components totaled $12,940. By May 5, officials were reviewing a one-year contract at $10,352 annually, suggesting that the proposal’s price had been revised as the city examined its options. At that same meeting cycle, the council formally tabled contract consideration 4-0 so staff could obtain more information. The June 2 work-session discussion repeated the $10,352 figure and the proposed term but did not document that the earlier hold had been lifted.
City staff and council members focused on practical questions about the platform’s communications function, including its 10,000-text-message credit and the cost of Nixle, the city’s existing alert service. Staff said they would examine those issues, and officials indicated Nixle alerts would continue until residents had fully signed up for the new system. The council’s unanimous tabling vote shows agreement that more information was needed, though the minutes do not describe individual members’ views on whether the city ultimately should buy GoGov.
GoGov is still a proposal, not a documented completed purchase or operating city service. The council has discussed a one-year contract priced at $10,352 annually, while the earlier April discussion listed components totaling $12,940. The record establishes that the council tabled the matter; it does not state that members later approved or rejected it, that either side signed a contract, or that the platform has been implemented. The reason for the price difference and the outcome of staff’s review of text-message and Nixle costs are not stated.
The next concrete public step would be a future City Council agenda item and minutes returning the GoGov contract for action. Until then, residents cannot know whether the council will approve the existing proposal, negotiate different price or service terms, or reject it. Any later vote or contract record would also need to clarify whether the city’s plans for notifications, payments, requests and code enforcement remain the same.
Arguments in the record
Positions presented publicly
Officials described GoGov as a broad digital platform for requests, code enforcement, communications, payments and notifications.
Council unanimously tabled the contract to seek additional information; the minutes do not record individual positions on final approval.
What happened
How this issue got here
Open any step for its supporting record. A proposal remains labeled as proposed until later evidence establishes an outcome.
TabledconfirmedCouncil unanimously tables GoGov contract
On May 5, the council unanimously voted 4-0 to table consideration of the GoGov contract so staff could gather additional information.
+
Council unanimously tables GoGov contract
On May 5, the council unanimously voted 4-0 to table consideration of the GoGov contract so staff could gather additional information.
DiscusseddiscussedOfficials review $10,352 GoGov contract
At a May 5 work session, officials reviewed a one-year GoGov contract priced at $10,352 annually. Staff said they would examine the 10,000-text-message limit and Nixle costs; Nixle alerts would continue until full signup.
+
Officials review $10,352 GoGov contract
At a May 5 work session, officials reviewed a one-year GoGov contract priced at $10,352 annually. Staff said they would examine the 10,000-text-message limit and Nixle costs; Nixle alerts would continue until full signup.
DiscusseddiscussedCouncil reviews proposed GoGov platform
On April 7, the council discussed a proposed GoGov platform for resident requests, code enforcement, communications, payments and notifications. The listed annual components totaled $12,940.
+
Council reviews proposed GoGov platform
On April 7, the council discussed a proposed GoGov platform for resident requests, code enforcement, communications, payments and notifications. The listed annual components totaled $12,940.
Still unresolved
What is not yet known
These are evidence gaps, not assumptions. They remain open until a dependable source closes them.
- City minutes record the May 5 tabling but do not state a later approval, rejection or contract execution.
Research the record