NEGAbriefLocal records made useful
IssueCorneliaunder consideration

Cornelia’s $1.1 million Hazel Creek pump upgrade still lacks a public completion record

A July Water Authority agenda continued to list J. Brennon Construction for work intended to strengthen raw-water pumping capacity, but it did not show whether the project was finished.

By NEGA Brief NewsroomLast checked April 28, 2026
What happens next

The next meaningful public step is a Water Authority minute, project update, payment record or completion notice that establishes what happened after the reported award. Such a record could clarify whether construction is under way or finished, whether the revised amount required a formal amendment, and whether the upgraded station is delivering the stated pumping capacity. Until then, the July agenda supports a reported award and planned scope, but not a definitive account of implementation or final outcome.

At a glance

What this means now

Where it stands

Several points should be kept distinct. Design work, anticipated bidding, the reported GEFA loan and the contractor amounts were all described in agendas; the July 2026 agenda continued to report the $1,103,049.79 figure and project scope. The record does not include minutes or an award resolution showing an Authority vote, nor does it include a notice of construction start, payment progress, inspection or completion. The Authority’s status summary also notes that an expected completion date of January 2026 appeared in the agenda material, but no included record confirms that deadline was met.

The story

Cornelia’s Hazel Creek raw-water pump-station upgrade remained listed as a $1,103,049.79 job for J. Brennon Construction on the Water Authority’s July 28 agenda, the latest public action described in the record. The agenda says the work would replace one pump and upgrade electrical and piping systems at the station. It repeats an April 2026 report rather than documenting a new construction milestone, leaving residents without a public confirmation that work has begun, reached a particular stage or been completed.

Sources2) Cornelia Water Authority Agenda for April 28, 2026 180.1 KB

The project concerns the equipment that moves raw water into Cornelia’s water system. Authority materials describe the planned improvements as providing pumping capacity of 4.3 million gallons a day, making the upgrade a consequential piece of utility infrastructure rather than a routine maintenance item. The central unanswered question is no longer whether the city intended to study the station: it is whether the reported, loan-backed construction plan has actually produced the promised capacity.

SourcesCornelia Water & Sewerage Authority Meeting Agenda for April 22 194.8 KB

The effort has moved through several stages over more than three years. Meeting materials in January 2023 said design was under way for upgrades to the Hazel Creek pumps and intake, a status repeated that spring. By April 2024, the Authority reported that design and acquisition of Georgia Environmental Finance Authority funding were continuing and that bidding was expected in June. An August 2024 commission agenda then put an engineer’s recommendation for the project before commissioners, though it did not record what they did with it.

Sources1st Quarter 2023 Meeting Minutes 105.2 KB2nd Quarter 2023 Meeting Minutes 105.6 KB3rd Quarter 2023 Meeting Minutes (1) 105.6 KBJanuary 2023 Meeting Minutes 104.6 KB

Water Authority agendas portray Cornelia’s utility leadership as pursuing a pump replacement and expanded electrical and piping capacity, with GEFA financing identified as part of the plan. In April 2025, an agenda listed a $1.3292 million GEFA loan and reported J. Brennon Construction as the contractor at $1,024,050. By April 2026, the same contractor was listed at the higher $1,103,049.79 amount. The agendas identify the company and scope, but do not include a statement from J. Brennon explaining the price change or its construction schedule.

SourcesCornelia Water & Sewerage Authority Meeting Agenda for April 22 194.8 KB2) Cornelia Water Authority Agenda for April 28, 2026 180.1 KB

Several points should be kept distinct. Design work, anticipated bidding, the reported GEFA loan and the contractor amounts were all described in agendas; the July 2026 agenda continued to report the $1,103,049.79 figure and project scope. The record does not include minutes or an award resolution showing an Authority vote, nor does it include a notice of construction start, payment progress, inspection or completion. The Authority’s status summary also notes that an expected completion date of January 2026 appeared in the agenda material, but no included record confirms that deadline was met.

Sources2) Cornelia Water Authority Agenda for April 23, 2024 165.0 KB1st Quarter April 23 2024 Meeting Minutes 104.7 KBCornelia Water & Sewerage Authority Meeting Agenda for April 22 194.8 KB2) Cornelia Water Authority Agenda for April 28, 2026 180.1 KB

The next meaningful public step is a Water Authority minute, project update, payment record or completion notice that establishes what happened after the reported award. Such a record could clarify whether construction is under way or finished, whether the revised amount required a formal amendment, and whether the upgraded station is delivering the stated pumping capacity. Until then, the July agenda supports a reported award and planned scope, but not a definitive account of implementation or final outcome.

Sources2) Cornelia Water Authority Agenda for April 28, 2026 180.1 KB

Arguments in the record

Positions presented publicly

Water Authority agenda record

Authority agendas describe a financed plan to replace a pump and upgrade electrical and piping capacity, while later documentation is still needed to establish implementation and completion.

What happened

How this issue got here

Open any step for its supporting record. A proposal remains labeled as proposed until later evidence establishes an outcome.

Discussed
discussed

Agenda reported updated contractor amount and January completion expectation

The April 2026 agenda listed J. Brennon Construction at $1,103,049.79 for replacing one pump and upgrading electrical and piping to pump 4.3 MGD, with completion expected in January 2026. It also listed a $1,329,200 GEFA loan.

Discussed
discussed

Agenda reported loan, contractor and planned construction schedule

An April 2025 agenda reported a $1,329,200 GEFA loan and listed J. Brennon Construction at $1,024,050 for work replacing one pump and upgrading electrical capacity to pump 4.3 MGD; it said construction should start around May 2025 and finish in October 2025.

Discussed
discussed

Upgrade reported on track for June bidding

April 2024 materials reported that design and GEFA funding acquisition were ongoing and that the pump-station upgrade was on schedule to bid in June.

Appeared on agenda
proposed

Engineer’s recommendation scheduled for commission consideration

The August 2024 commission agenda listed an engineer’s recommendation for the Hazel Creek Pump Station Project.

Discussed
discussed

Hazel Creek pump-station upgrade design reported underway

Water Authority materials reported that design was ongoing to upgrade the Hazel Creek raw-water pumps and intake.

Still unresolved

What is not yet known

These are evidence gaps, not assumptions. They remain open until a dependable source closes them.

  1. The published agenda report contractor amounts and schedules but do not prove a governing-body award.
  2. The April 2025 agenda label gives April 22 but does not state its year; the event’s stored 2025 date is not treated as an exact occurrence date.
  3. The public records do not contain a completion notice or completion action.
Newsroom notes2 open checks on the record

How the newsroom is still working this matter. These are process notes, not reported facts.

Research the record

Search the underlying agendas, minutes, and documents.

Search supporting records