Topic
Transportation and roads
2,598 collected facts are classified here, including all narrower subjects below.
Subjects
Issues
1–12 of 37
Toccoa’s airport-lighting contract supplement awaits a public outcome recordawaiting decisionToccoa weighs sidewalk links at two Big A Road intersectionsawaiting decisionToccoa Banks FY26 Road Funds for Future Paving WorkapprovedStone Bridge Road repairs falter as Franklin County action remains unclearunder considerationStone Bridge Road Damage Leaves Franklin County Facing Repair-Cost Questionunder considerationStephens County considers $955,193 plan to refresh airport pavement and markingsawaiting decisionStephens County considers $955,193 airport pavement contract, but award remains unconfirmedawaiting decisionStephens County adds Historic Highway 17 to speed-zone rules, but rollout remains unclearapprovedStatewide $26 million transportation package leaves Lavonia downtown award unconfirmedunder considerationRoyston approves $71,300 paving purchase for Carroll, Carlton and Shirley streetsapprovedRoyston approves $34,700 repair for Carlton-Shirley stormwater and street problemsapprovedRoyston Council unanimously approves beer and wine license for new Destiny Food Mart ownerapproved
Meaningful Changes
25–32 of 322
On March 25, 2026, the Demorest Downtown Development Authority discussed a potential 92-by-25-foot concrete parking area estimated at $9,000, with capacity for up to 10 spaces. It also considered additional accessible spaces and a restaurant take-out pickup zone; the authority was awaiting a contractor response and planned a full cost analysis.Historical recordAt the March 10, 2026 meeting, Margaret Beaupre said the tree and road issue on Wade Street was very dangerous. Mayor Armour said the tree was scheduled for removal and plans for the road fixture were in the works.Historical recordThe Board of Commissioners’ February 24, 2026 agenda scheduled consideration of adding Bedford Drive to the county road system. The agenda does not state a decision.Historical recordOn February 10, 2026, the airport approved additional tie-down regulations: applicants must provide personal and aircraft information, insurance requirements, and the current fee schedule; approved applications carry a $50 processing fee. The motion passed 4-0.Historical recordOfficials discussed that a Single Service Application permits a business to operate from leased airport space, while flight instruction is federally regulated. The discussion also addressed insurance, safety, and airport-specific standards for flight instruction.Historical recordAt a February 9, 2026 work session, Public Works proposed sidewalk installation at the Big A Road intersections with Roselane and Rothell.Historical recordThe Jan. 20, 2026 Board of Commissioners agenda placed before commissioners a proposal to authorize staff to file a GTIB application for a roadway-project grant. The cited text does not state a vote or final action.Historical recordThe Airport Commission scheduled consideration of a new tie-down lease agreement, application and fee schedule at its January 13, 2026 meeting.Historical record
Research